A Dowg's Life

I’m a dowg. Woof.

My life. My story.

When I was 19, my idea of a successful career was to earn thrice as much as my age. I didn’t fare well on this criterion though, I barely made 15,000 rupees a month till my 21st birthday. Having said that, I had zero responsibilities and a five-figure salary was enough to have a good time every weekend. Especially on people’s birthdays, free booze & drinks. Ofcourse!

When I was 21, all my friends were already half way through their postgraduate degree. The only person left was my best friend; incidentally he was the reason why I applied for a job immediately after my Computer Science degree rather than approaching different colleges for two more years of torture and pain in the classrooms. Ironically, he applied for an MBA degree as well. I was left alone. Not literally, but you know what I mean.

At this point I did exactly what any sensible guy would do, I quit my job and bought the admission forms for the same college where he had applied. Two months of hardcore preparations followed & I was ready to ace the entrance exam. But as everything else in my life, there was a twist to this story as well. Yes, it was my father who brought this twist, along with some ice cream. This was probably the first ‘talk’ that we had. After a lengthy heart to heart, I was left with one question and one advice: “Where do you see yourself after twenty years?” | “Life is simple, do not complicate it.”

I answered the question by not attending the entrance exam & taking another two months to figure out what I really wanted to be in my life once I am old and wrinkly. I kept it simple and answers poured in with immediate effect. I didn’t have the precise answer but I did get a good idea of my future.

I figured that I wasn’t meant for a 9-5 job. I wasn’t meant to follow instructions. I wasn’t meant to work for people who didn’t value my potential. I wasn’t meant to be someone else!

At 22, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with my life. A reputed company offered me a job at 6000 rupees per month. I took it. I learned the tricks of the trade from the best in the business, I learned marketing from a genius, I learned client servicing from a master and I learned to value money from a Sindhi!

At 23, I quit. I quit being an employee. I quit being a small fish in the ocean. I bought myself a small pond and became its Lochness Monster. All this was possible because I knew that there was enough business for everyone. No exceptions.

I became greedy. I became selfish. I valued people based on their social status & bank balance. I had a set definition for the ugly, face or personality. Money mattered more than people’s feelings and their expectations.

250+ ‘friends’ attended my 24th birthday. Everyone I could think of was there. I was happy and I was drunk. Infact, I was stoned beyond recognition. When everything settled early in the morning, I found only 5 people around me, my best friends from college. Yes, they were still there, helping me back on my feet and carrying me home. Everyone else had left. Everyone else had a great time at the party but didn’t give a shit about me!

I didn’t go to my office for couple of weeks post my birthday. I didn’t feel like meeting anyone. I didn’t want to meet anyone. I just wanted some peace. Unfortunately, I thought women, drugs & alcohol would help. Wrong choice. Wrong fucking choice!!

Thankfully, common sense prevailed and I gave away my pond to the newest shark in town. I finally changed my laptop’s wallpaper, which for few years had read, “It’s better to burn out than fade away”. I didn’t want to fade away but I was too young to burn out.

What followed was four years of bliss. I traveled. I met each & every member in my extended family. I met strangers. I striped myself of every pleasure I bought with money. And I did everything I had missed out on because of studies and later, work. More importantly, I was keeping it simple!

At 28, my bank balance hit rock bottom. I was happy in life but I was broke! So, I dug myself another pond. Back in business, back to the usual rat race. The only difference was that I didn’t lust for materialistic things anymore. I was in love with life and everything that made it beautiful.

Today, at 29, I am happy. I am not content with life, but I am happy. I have a wonderful family & excellent bunch of friends. Hell, I even have a dog. More importantly, I finally have the answer to my father’s question. In twenty years from now, I’ll be dead if I don’t live today!

48 responses to “My life. My story.

  1. chintan October 21, 2011 at 8:21 am

    And you asked me why am I in london when I do nothing 🙂 I do what I like,I like what I do.

    My male alterego are you?

  2. The Coffee Nazi October 21, 2011 at 8:27 am

    Live today. Die another day. I still don’t know far this venture will go. Its starting to slow down even before its taken off. Patience. I am keeping my cool! Trying to tread the path.

    I guess its all about today. You may not be there tomorrow to see what you worked so hard for today, ignoring those who matter.

    I know this feeling brother. Keep rocking.

  3. Shakti Shetty October 21, 2011 at 8:40 am

    And they say, life is overrated.

    Conclusion: Keep walking and like you mentioned, living. 🙂

  4. Rabbit. Err, Lion. (@gorakhargosh) October 21, 2011 at 8:48 am

    What a wonderful post! It’s like I’m reading about my own life. =)

  5. S October 21, 2011 at 9:01 am

    How I wish every person lives as much as you 🙂 Amazing post ! I’m happy I stumbled upon this page.
    Someone so happy can make people turn green . 😉

  6. @Rohwit October 21, 2011 at 9:02 am

    What a post!!!

    While all of us can go ‘oh how well you write’, Its actually a quality to come out with a post as good as this one. You painted a picture man. I am tempted to comment long but I will stop

    Have an awesome journey dude…a journey that keeps on evolving by the passing minute

    Cheeeeeeeeeeeers!

  7. meethimirchi October 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I guess life is much simple and pleasurable, we make it complicated by comparing with others .

    truly inspiring ….

  8. Pankaj October 21, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Great…..Im living the same story….felt someone writing on my behalf

  9. ... (@fzlsammy) October 21, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Life is just…… no imagination, just watch it.

  10. Arziyaan October 21, 2011 at 9:29 am

    This says a lot about life. 🙂 nicely put together and shaped to ‘live’ after.

  11. Pratiksha October 21, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Lovely read. Thoughts in the form of words, flow like a stream of water, which drown me and I can empathize each time I read your blog. happy to hear, that you are content, my friend! 🙂

  12. TyagiG (@tyagiG) October 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

    One of the most important things in life – choose ur friends wisely.

  13. MD October 21, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Lovely post. I started earning way too early. Haven’t taken a break. The only time I had to ‘forcefully’ take a break was a time when I didn’t knew if we gonna have our next meal. Well too many lessons learnt.

    Good to know you took a break and sorted your life. Beautiful post. God bless!

  14. Prabhat Handoo (@phand00) October 21, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Very well written. There are so many things that one can relate to in this post. Like others, I did too. Maybe because we all are from a generation who do not get things served in the plate from ancestors and mainly, we want to do things on our own. Clear conscience and hard work never let anyone down. You did the right thing when you had to. It may not sound right to others, but whatever you do is right. I always believe that anything is possible, You just have to believe that it is possible and you can do it. No decision is right or wrong, the actions make it so. Good luck for times ahead. Hard work has always paid and I hope everyone gets paid well who works hard. 🙂

  15. Papple (@caramelwings) October 21, 2011 at 10:33 am

    How true, very well written Banna, live life like there is no tomorrow. The only thing that makes me scared is that I would have regrets on my deathbed and I don’t wanna have any. So make the most of whatever you got!

  16. Punkster October 21, 2011 at 11:04 am

    We all hide a Buddha in all of us. A buddha waiting to realize that above anything else, the only thing that matters is inner bliss.

    Trust me, this is my story too. Half way through, I hope it ends up the same way.

    Cheers bhai.

  17. mystique16 October 21, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Its really wonderful that you actually penned down about ur life 🙂 not many can do it .. Inspirational yes ! And many can relate to this for sure 🙂

  18. Manisha October 21, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Keep a smile on your face, enjoy life to the fullest and have no regrets.
    Spend everything you have and keep working for more.
    Value the people you love and who love you aren’t any less.

    I can’t say that I’m reading my own life as I’m still just a student aiming for some specific goals in life, but hell yeah there’s a deep message in this post for me, and everyone else who’ve read this.

    Live today like there ain’t no tomorrow & be happy forever!

    Cheers.

  19. Rohit October 21, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Man you are brutally honest. I like such honest heart out writing.
    I am 25, i earn 30K, i have super cool parents and horribly good friends. I booze every weekend, travel every quarter and read loads of book. This has been my routine for past 1 year. I feel i am content but not happy. Where is happiness?

  20. Madhav October 21, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    wonderful post.loved it 🙂 CHEERS DUDE

  21. Mall. (@circa_1989) October 21, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    beautifully written..inspiring the 22 year old in me. 🙂

  22. Iris October 21, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    This is a big question in my life too!
    And I think it hits everyone.

    But very importantly you recognized what you wanted to do. 🙂
    All the best wishes, Banna! 🙂

  23. Nisha Arppit October 21, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    everyone exists but very few lucky people get and actually know the art of living!!! :):)

  24. kartikulations October 21, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    🙂 nice. its you who should decide your destiny! very well written. (@_stoic_)

  25. Pratyush (@Stoned_Heretic) October 21, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    First of all, Banna never knew you could write so well, but as they say when you put your emotions and thoughts to word magic happens, that’s what seems to have gone down.
    I agree life is worth living, But i have couple of questions which i want to ask you or the cluster of really smart and appreciative people who have commented above me, How do you make the call as to if its worth the risk? What does make you think its worth that leap of faith? Is it hope, intution or just plain craziness. Would love to hear from all of you

    NOTE : Banna, I’m proud of you and trust me your story inspires me, my twitter handle might say stoned and frequent occurences of #DrunkenTweets might make you think that I’m under the influence when i’m typing this, But it does.

    Thank you for sharing such a warm and truly awe-inspiring account from your life

    @stoned_heretic

    • Raksha November 2, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      “How do you make the call as to if its worth the risk?”
      >> if you feel like doing it… go for it!
      “Is it hope, intution or just plain craziness. Would love to hear from all of you”
      >> person doing has “tremendous hope”…people around term it – “craziness”

  26. dexgle October 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    i’m only 19 n all i can say is ”wow”, man 😀

  27. Pallav (@69fubar) October 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    🙂 inspiring story. Hope the journey ahead is as adventurous as the one so far!

    Good luck man!

  28. Visha Suchde (@vishasuchde) October 24, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Maybe you wont die, but you definitely wont have as engaging a story to tell as you have here, in the end! 😉 Really nice post. Look forward to more!

    PS. Sorry this is late. 🙂

  29. Raksha November 2, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    “More importantly, I finally have the answer to my father’s question. In twenty years from now, I’ll be dead if I don’t live today!”

    a perfect end!

  30. 1nfected November 4, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Last line was killlar!

  31. pavanmehta November 5, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Awesome post sirjee. Just loved it. It was truly inspirational. I’m 20 and about to finish my BCA and i’m facing the same dilemma as you’d faced. Post-grad or Job. I almost thing the same about going for post-grad as you thought at that time. I wish I’m able to follow your path of life and don’t make mistakes you did. This would do down as the best answer to the mentioned question. “In twenty years from now, I’ll be dead if I don’t live today!”
    P.S THanks for this.
    Sincerely
    Pavan

  32. Wolston Lobo (@WolstonL) November 8, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    This post is Awesome… I’m in the transition phase and this is gonna help me!

  33. Aanchal November 19, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    That’s exactly what I have jus begun doing…., quit ma job few months back… Started stuff I love to do which I had quit doing in last 10 yrs!! Got too caught up in the rat race :)…. Hopefully can get my life back in order in next few months….. Lovely n truly inspiring post btw 🙂

  34. ZenEmotions January 2, 2012 at 9:40 am

    Fantastic post. Really well written – difficult to lead a life this uncluttered and in the present, though!

  35. juhi August 9, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    ur writing is mesmerisingly good n v insightful.

  36. Cocktail Amma November 27, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Beautiful post and lovely comments!

    After reading this all I can think of is,”And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music” – Nietzsche

  37. Suruchi Arora November 28, 2012 at 9:26 am

    This is like those little encapsulated versions of lessons for life from someone’s life. You ensnare the reader with words, trap them in emotions, make them crave for similar experiences and leave them with a sense of having traversed with you in your little journey of becoming the person you are.

    Oh did I mention somewhere- a Brilliant write-up. Never was life narration, this enthralling.

Leave a Reply

